Basic Research Tools
Bloomsbury Companion to Hindu Studies
Covers all the most pressing and important themes and categories in the field, Source originally published in 2014. Online Access via EBSCO eBooks.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online
presents a balanced approach to Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of the Hindu religion from its ancient historical roots to its many flourishing traditions today. Source published 2008-2012. Online access via Brill.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Sikhism Online
Presents scholarly essays on Sikhs, the variety of Sikh traditions, and both the historical and contemporary institutions of Sikhism. It is focused on the history, literature, and the social landscape of the Sikh community, including people, practices, places, and migration beyond Punjab. Source published in 2017 with some content added later. Online access via Brill.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online
Presents an even-handed overview of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of the Hindu religion from its ancient historical roots to its many flourishing traditions today. Source published 2009-2014. Online access via Brill Online.
Hinduism and Tribal Religions
Explores Hinduism in India in dynamic interaction with other religions of Indian origin and with religions which did not originate in India but have been a major feature of its religious landscape. It also covers Hinduism’s close association with Tribal Religions, sometimes called Primal Religions, the phenomenon of Hinduism in the diaspora, the modern Hindu need for a rational rather than a devotional or traditional exposition of the religion, and the pan-Indian need for information to address the stereotypes which characterize the presentation of Hinduism in academia and the media, especially in the West. Published book in the Encyclopedia of Indian Religions series and a Living Reference Work (continuously updated). Online Access via SpringerLink.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism
Relates the history of Hinduism through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,000 cross referenced dictionary entries on Hindu terminology, names of major historical figures and movements, gods and goddesses, prominent temples, terms for items used in Hindu practice, major texts, and philosophical concepts. Source originally published in 2011. Online access via EBSCO eBooks.
Historical Dictionary of Sikhism
Covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on key persons, organizations, the principles, precepts and practices of the religion as well as the history, culture and social arrangements. Source originally published in 2014. Online access via EBSCO eBooks.
Oxford Bibliographies - Hinduism
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in all areas related to the study of Hinduism. Source continuously updated. Online access via Oxford University Press.
Oxford Dictionary of Hinduism
Covers all the major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts from Hinduism's ancient roots to the 21st century. Source published in 2009. Online access via Oxford Reference.
Sikhism
Describes Sikhism, the youngest member of the Indic religious traditions. It provides a useful introduction to the lives of its founders, their philosophical and ethical teachings and to Sikh responses and interactions with the world’s major religious traditions in an increasingly pluralistic world. In addition the volume analyses the relationship between complex themes such as violence and mysticism, politics and religion, tradition and modernity, as they have manifested themselves in the historical evolution of the Sikh community. Source published in 2017 and a book in the Encyclopedia of Indian Religions series. Online Access via SpringerLink.
Covers all the most pressing and important themes and categories in the field, Source originally published in 2014. Online Access via EBSCO eBooks.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online
presents a balanced approach to Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of the Hindu religion from its ancient historical roots to its many flourishing traditions today. Source published 2008-2012. Online access via Brill.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Sikhism Online
Presents scholarly essays on Sikhs, the variety of Sikh traditions, and both the historical and contemporary institutions of Sikhism. It is focused on the history, literature, and the social landscape of the Sikh community, including people, practices, places, and migration beyond Punjab. Source published in 2017 with some content added later. Online access via Brill.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online
Presents an even-handed overview of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of the Hindu religion from its ancient historical roots to its many flourishing traditions today. Source published 2009-2014. Online access via Brill Online.
Hinduism and Tribal Religions
Explores Hinduism in India in dynamic interaction with other religions of Indian origin and with religions which did not originate in India but have been a major feature of its religious landscape. It also covers Hinduism’s close association with Tribal Religions, sometimes called Primal Religions, the phenomenon of Hinduism in the diaspora, the modern Hindu need for a rational rather than a devotional or traditional exposition of the religion, and the pan-Indian need for information to address the stereotypes which characterize the presentation of Hinduism in academia and the media, especially in the West. Published book in the Encyclopedia of Indian Religions series and a Living Reference Work (continuously updated). Online Access via SpringerLink.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism
Relates the history of Hinduism through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,000 cross referenced dictionary entries on Hindu terminology, names of major historical figures and movements, gods and goddesses, prominent temples, terms for items used in Hindu practice, major texts, and philosophical concepts. Source originally published in 2011. Online access via EBSCO eBooks.
Historical Dictionary of Sikhism
Covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on key persons, organizations, the principles, precepts and practices of the religion as well as the history, culture and social arrangements. Source originally published in 2014. Online access via EBSCO eBooks.
Oxford Bibliographies - Hinduism
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in all areas related to the study of Hinduism. Source continuously updated. Online access via Oxford University Press.
Oxford Dictionary of Hinduism
Covers all the major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts from Hinduism's ancient roots to the 21st century. Source published in 2009. Online access via Oxford Reference.
Sikhism
Describes Sikhism, the youngest member of the Indic religious traditions. It provides a useful introduction to the lives of its founders, their philosophical and ethical teachings and to Sikh responses and interactions with the world’s major religious traditions in an increasingly pluralistic world. In addition the volume analyses the relationship between complex themes such as violence and mysticism, politics and religion, tradition and modernity, as they have manifested themselves in the historical evolution of the Sikh community. Source published in 2017 and a book in the Encyclopedia of Indian Religions series. Online Access via SpringerLink.