FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Theology and Religious Studies > Help finding texts by and sources about Augustine

Help finding texts by and sources about Augustine

 Relevant databases to search for articles

 Some resources provided by the library

E-collections that include Augustine's works

CAG 3 (Corpus Augustinianum Gissense a Cornelio Mayer editum online)
The 3rd version of the Corpus Augustinianum Gissense a Cornelio Mayer editum (CAG 3 = CAG-online) is including the electronic corpus with any writings, sermons and letters of the philosopher and theologian Augustine of Hippo (354-430), delivered to posterity. Editor of the CAG-online is the famous Augustinian researcher and founder of the Augustinus-Lexikon, Cornelius Petrus Mayer.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A (Brepols)
Contains full-text of almost all the items in the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and Continuatio Medievalis. It also contains text from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Included are the main works of Thomas Aquinas and certain Latin works of Descartes. (Database was formerly CETEDOC.)

Loeb Classical Library
A digital version of all 520+ volumes in Harvard University Press' series of Greek and Latin texts. English translations appear on facing pages, following the format of the print editions, and the full collection is searchable in English or in the original language. Also available in print.

Past Masters (InteLex)
Contains full-text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Pierce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraf, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.

Patrologia Latina (ProQuest)
A complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. Covers the history of Latin Christianity until AD 1216.

dpoley Darren Poley
Assistant Director of Academic Integration and Theology Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 230
610-519-6371


Key reference book

Augustine through the ages: an encyclopedia

Augustine through the ages: an encyclopedia (online version)


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-28 15:26:59